Ethnic Communities


The Republic of Austria is a landlocked country in central Europe. It borders Germany and the Czech Republic to the north, Slovakia and Hungary to the east, Slovenia and Italy to the south, and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west.

Quick Facts

Area: 83,870 sq km

Climate: temperate; continental, cloudy; cold winters with frequent rain and some snow in lowlands and snow in mountains; moderate summers with occasional showers.

Terrain: in the west and south mostly mountains (Alps); along the eastern and northern margins mostly flat or gently sloping

Population: 8,184,691 (July 2005 est.)

Religion: Roman Catholic 73.6%, Protestant 4.7%, Muslim 4.2%, other 0.1%, none 17.4%

Languages: German (official nationwide), Slovene (official in Carinthia), Croatian (official in Burgenland), Hungarian (official in Burgenland)

Community Name

Austrian Community (No formal community of Austrian exists in Tasmania.

Size of Community in Tasmania

There are approximately 363 Austrian residing in Tasmania.

Local Community Contact Details



Donation to the International Wall of Friendship

 Austria plaque

The Austrian Community presented a flag and stone to the Wall of International Friendship through Mrs Margaret Skelder on 4th of November 1995. The stone consists of beige coloured marble from the open-cut mine at Uternsberg in Austria. The face is polished. The design by Mr John Menzani of Wynard features a metallic shield of the Austrian coat-of-arms mounted at the top left, with the gold-filled inscription in the German language occupying the remaining area.



Community Events

There are no events to show at the moment.

Message to the Community

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit. Recusandae, officia autem repellat dolores minus cumque.

Send A Message

Contact Us

International Wall of Friendship Development Committee.

C/- Bellala
GPO Box 920
Hobart TAS 7001

Phone Int. (03) 6270 1200
Phone: +61 3 6270 1200