Ethnic Communities


The Netherlands (Dutch: Nederland) is the European part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands (Dutch: Koninkrijk der Nederlanden), located in northwestern Europe. It borders the North Sea to the north and west, Belgium to the south, and Germany to the east.

Quick Facts

Area: 41,526 s

Climate: temperate; marine; cool summers and mild winters

Terrain: mostly coastal lowland and reclaimed land (polders); some hills in southeast

Population: 16,407,4

Religion: Roman Catholic 31%, Protestant 21%, Muslim 4.4%, other 3.6%, unaffiliated 40% (1998)

Languages: Dutch (official), Frisian (official)

Community Name

Dutch Australian Society "Abel Tasman Inc."

Size of Community in Tasmania

There are approximately 20,000 Dutch Migrants and their immediate descendants in the Tasmanian community.

Local Community Contact Details


Donation to the International Wall of Friendship

 Netherlands plaque

The Dutch stone was presented by President of the Dutch-Australian Society George Huizing on behalf of the Dutch Community of Tasmania on 29th of November 1992.The plaque is comprised of several bricks excavated from the foundations of the dwelling where Abel Tasman was born in 1603 at Lutjegast. The bricks are cemented together and bound in a glass fronted aluminum frame. whish is inscribed with the message of friendship and goodwill in the Dutch language and attached is a metal brass plate that says The Netherlands.


  • There is
    no photo
    at the moment


  • There is no video available for viewing at the moment

Community Events

There are no events to show at the moment.

Message to the Community

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit. Recusandae, officia autem repellat dolores minus cumque.

Send A Message

Contact Us

International Wall of Friendship Development Committee.

C/- Bellala
GPO Box 920
Hobart TAS 7001

Phone Int. (03) 6270 1200
Phone: +61 3 6270 1200