The International Wall of Friendship was built to bring all of Tasmania's communities closer together and to provide a tribute to the contribution that migrant communities have made to the states development.
Individually unique and of substantial value, the wall constitutes a priceless collection that is recognised as a significant tourist attraction and place of tranquility and reflection.
The International Wall of Friendship is located in the sunken garden at the Commonwealth Government Centre at 188 Collins Street in Hobart.
The wall is believed to be the only project of its kind in the world.
Built as a symbol of goodwill and recognition of the contribution that multicultural groups have made to the development of Tasmania, the International Wall of Friendship includes over 54 stones donated by migrant communities who have settled across Tasmania.
Each year communities gather at the International Wall to celebrate days of national and international significance by flying the Australian flag and the flags of their countries of origin.
The Wall of Friendship has generated a great deal of interest around the world and in addition to be being a tranquil setting is a much used venue for civic receptions.
The International Wall of Friendship was the idea of well known Tasmanian public figure and keen historian Basil Rait in 1966.
Basil was passionate about recognising the contribution that migrant communities have played in the development of Tasmania. His vision was to build a memorial structure out of stones from the countries Tasmania's migrants had come from.
The first stone was contributed by the Chinese Community Association of Tasmania and officially presented on 27 July 1984 in Parliament House. The polished black granite stone featured distinctive Chinese lettering and a dragon emblem. It served as an inspiration for the donation of a further 26 distinctive blocks within the next five years.
In 1992 a site for the monument was approved in the Sunken Garden at the newly built Commonwealth Government Centre in Hobart. The Wall was designed by skilled Swiss artist, model maker and graphic designer Rene Rime, and was built with funds donated by the Commonwealth Government.
The official opening of The Wall of Friendship took place on 29 October 1992.
The stones that make up the International Wall of Friendship have been donated as a gesture of goodwill by representatives of more than 54 multicultural groups from across Tasmania.
It is hoped that one day the wall will feature a stone from every of the known 85 cultural groups that are known to have migrated to Tasmania.
If you are a part of a group that would like to donate a stone to the wall please contact us, so that we can help you meet the requirements so that your stone can sit proudly among those from communities that have played a part in Tasmania's vibrant history.
Specifications for Contributions
The block is to measure 50cm in length, 40cm high and to a depth of 3cm
The block does not have to be made of stone but should be of a material typical to the building material best known in the country of origin.
The message on each stone should read;
PRESENTED BY THE PEOPLE OF (COUNTRY)
AS A SYMBOL OF FRIENDSHIP AND GOODWILL
This should be translated into the original language of the migrant group, although it may also be presented in English at the foot of the blocks. There is also the option to include a national symbol or cultural emblem in the design.
Some communities also donate a flag from their country. All flags donated should be 180cm by 90cm (6x3 feet).
International Wall of Friendship Development Committee.
GPO Box 920
Hobart TAS 7001
Phone Int. (03) 6270 1200
Phone: +61 3 6270 1200